Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Shawn Banks, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionShawn BanksCounty Extension Director - Horticulture Agent (252) 222-6352 (Office) shawn_banks@ncsu.eduCarteret County Center

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Coleman Becton, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionColeman BectonExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (252) 222-6375 coleman_becton@ncsu.eduCarteret County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Mike Carroll, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMike CarrollArea Agent, Agriculture (252) 633-1477 (Office) mike_carroll@ncsu.eduCraven County CenterPhoto of Dee Smith, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDee SmithProgram Assistant- Environmental Education and 4-H (252) 222-6365 dee_edwards-smith@ncsu.eduCarteret County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Stephanie Stevenson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionStephanie StevensonExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences - Family & Consumer Sciences (252) 222-6374 stephanie_stevenson@ncsu.eduCarteret County Center

Other

Photo of Dina Murray, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDina MurrayCounty Extension Administrative Assistant, Extension Program Assistant (252) 222-6352 (Office) dlmurra4@ncsu.eduCarteret County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Carteret County Center, they may not be present in the Carteret County Center. Please contact the Carteret County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Candice Christian, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCandice ChristianArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 CountiesBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9148 Candice_Christian@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Photo of Mike Frinsko, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMike FrinskoArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Aquaculture Serves 18 CountiesBased out of Jones(252) 448-9621 (Office) mike_frinsko@ncsu.eduJones County Center Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Lynette Johnston, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Lynette JohnstonArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 50 CountiesBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences(919) 515-0303 lynette_johnston@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences Photo of Danny Lauderdale, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDanny LauderdaleArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Eastern Region Serves 44 CountiesBased out of Wilson(252) 237-0111 (Office) danny_lauderdale@ncsu.eduWilson County Center Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Center Photo of Lori McBryde, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLori McBrydeArea 4-H Agent, East Region Serves 34 CountiesBased out of Johnston(919) 989-5380 (Office) lori_mcbryde@ncsu.eduJohnston County Center Photo of Diana Rashash, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Diana RashashArea Specialized Agent, Water Quality / Waste Management Serves 18 CountiesBased out of Onslow(910) 455-5873 (Office) diana_rashash@ncsu.eduOnslow County Center Photo of Margaret Ross, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMargaret RossArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 33 CountiesBased out of Jones(252) 670-8254 margaret_ross@ncsu.eduJones County Center Photo of Chip Simmons, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Chip Simmons, IIIArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety Serves 51 CountiesBased out of Horticultural Science(919) 414-5632 odsimmon@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Alyssa Spence, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAlyssa SpenceArea Specialized Agent, Agromedicine, Farm Health & Safety Serves 18 CountiesBased out of Lenoir(252) 527-2191 (Office) arramsey@ncsu.eduLenoir County Center Photo of Wesley Stallings, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionWesley StallingsArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture- Grain Crops Serves 17 CountiesBased out of Onslow(910) 455-5873 (Office) wcstalli@ncsu.eduOnslow County Center Photo of Allan Thornton, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAllan ThorntonArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 25 CountiesBased out of Horticultural Science(910) 592-7161 (Office) allan_thornton@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Scott Tilley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionScott TilleyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Field Crops Serves 24 CountiesBased out of Washington(252) 793-4428 (Office) scott_tilley@ncsu.eduWashington County Center Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center